The second largest island after Crete, in Greek archipelagos and the third after Cyprus in the eastern Mediterranean. It is separated from the mainland of Greece with the Evian Gulf.




Evia with its rich natural and cultural heritage– its insurmountable landscape of exceptional natural beauty, the nature monuments, special protected areas, natural environment, Natura 2000 network, the wetlands, the 900 kilometers of coastline and thousands of acres of forest land where some of these forests are ancient. Evia today is the crossroads of cultures and the meeting place of people and traditions.


It’s recently that the prefecture of Evia has become known as a four season’s tourist destination thanks to its unspoilt nature, biodiversity, heritage, handicrafts, live local tradition, cuisine and traditional local recipes, but overall for its warm hospitality of its inhabitants.


Evia is an island that still remains authentic and traditional, so whichever route you want to follow year round, to arrive by car or plane, or with your sailboat, to the North, South, Central Evia and Skyros, you will definitely feel the millennial Greek hospitality.


Natural Monuments :


• Olive Almyropotamou - N. Evia

• Remnant riparian forest in Istiaia - Evia 


Landscapes of Outstanding Natural Beauty:


• Cape Kafireas ( Cavo D'oro ) - N. Evia

• Dimosari and Kastanolongos in Ochi Evia - Prefecture of Evia

• Rouklia Valley in Karystia - N. Evia

• Sarakino islet- Skyros

• Stroggyli Nysyrou Evia - Evia

• Magnolia Islets and Lichada Evia - Evia

• Mountain villages region Kimi - K. Evia

• Kalogria Bay Atsitsa and Neighboring Pine forest - Skyros

• The Mourteri and Manikiotiko Gorges Kymi - K. Evia , Skyros


Special Protection Areas (SPA):


• Oros Kochylas - Skyros area: 4,097 ha

• Islets Skyros - Skyros area: 4,660 ha

• Lake Dystos - N. Evia area: 26.360 ha

• Small and Big Livari - Delta Xiria - Evia area: 10,170 ha